top of page

Easy steps to creating a gallery wall


Where did the last few weeks go? When I look back, I see a blur. Moving into a new house and setting it up isn’t easy. As exciting as it may seem, it has been exhausting and intense.

I know I have been announcing this move every now and then — on the blog, and Instagram, and Facebook, so much so, a lot of you are asking for pics. So let’s start at the gallery wall. You may remember both R and I are gallery wall-kind of people (they say it’s a thing).

Over the years, we’ve collected many prints and posters. A few pieces have even landed up as gifts from dear friends. Our collection comprises really diverse elements — from photographs of movie stars to Paul Fernandes caricatures. It has doodles from comicon and also vintage movie posters. Let’s not forget the varying shapes, sizes and colour elements. It was really confusing to determine a peaceful co-existence of this diverse lot. However, here are a few steps that I followed for a reasonable outcome (I think). So glad to share my notes with you:

1# Before putting up the frames on the wall, I arranged them on the floor for a feel of the final outcome.

2#I clicked pictures at this point to not miss out the details of the arrangement while actually putting them up

3# While the foolproof way is to have equal spaces between all frames, I tried mismatched spacing for some white space between two busy frames

4# I arranged the frames in layers of colours, for example, a colour-rich frame followed by a monochromatic one

5# Diversity was important so I added some masks to the otherwise squarish and rectangular gallery frames

6# If you have the space, try to use an entire wall, right from top to the floor for a dramatic effect. Also, keep the frames you want attention on at the eye level. Remember, looking up to see a picture is effort!

7# If you have problems drilling nails into your walls, you can consider double-sided tape, for lighter and smaller frames. If you have a heavy one, I’d suggest avoid this and go for the nail, hammer and drill machine!

I was pretty happy with the gallery in the new home. Hope you liked it too.

If you have any suggestions/tips to share about how to have a great gallery wall, do let me know in the comments below. And, yes, more home decor posts are coming soon. Stay tuned!

PS: Special thanks to R for helping me execute my plans. He has a way with the drill machine. It’s a gift!

Like it? Share it!
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page