top of page

Taking the slip dress to tennis court


Quick recap of a Friends episode: The one in which Rachel wore a night slip to a dinner with her boyfriend’s parents. We all enjoyed a moment of being in splits as she convinced her beau’s parents what she was wearing was actually a serving of fashion fresh off the runways. Hang on, don't just slip into another spell of giggles as Rachel was right!

The boundaries between private and public fashion has often been blurred, giving birth to an entire gamut of outfits that resemble inner wear but are meant to worn outside. Slip dresses, lacey camis, bralets, chemises, the list continues. The right numbers are supposed to form a part of your over all look as layers, accents or even standalone pieces for the ones who don't mind a risque look.

2016 was a year that saw a lot of slip dresses on the runways and I have spared a lot of thought on how to incorporate it in my wardrobe. From the discussion above, you must have figured this one item needs careful handling, especially for people like me who look like they are having a heart attack if they try anything sexy. Which is why, I tried a look that begins with the next closest S word - SPORTY! Styled as a layer on a simple tee and paired with my fur-detailed sneakers, the slip dress looked a tamed version of itself.

It felt great to take my slip dress to the tennis court (no I didn’t play tennis in it). Where are you taking yours?

My Look:

Slip dress: H&M

Tee: Splash

Sneakers: Zara

The eye behind the lens: The images are clicked by Rahul Rout, a strong-headed, tantrum-throwing man-child, who is also the most reliable person when it comes to taking my pictures. We fight every time there is a shoot but I like how he turns up for the next one, all fresh and kicking. When he's not clicking my pics, he's writing codes or playing the keyboard. He also occasionally plays the guitar and sings songs that he randomly makes up from life situations. He whips up the best tea in the world and is a closet electrician and plumber. Oh, and since I thought this one is a total catch, I married him a few years back. It's been great ever since (gulp)!

Like it? Share it!
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page