top of page

How to handle too much red?


Who remembers the rant about my colour insouciance? Psst...I knew you’d forget!

The thing is, I always tend to go neutral and avoid colours as much as possible. But then, I also have a few shopping idiosyncrasies, which brings us to the story of this red dress.

The Christmasy season and great discounted prices demanded that I indulged in a bit of red. But then, as R kept teasing me about how it is not my style (I am telling you he was hinting at my age) to wear such blinding hues, I got all worried thinking this dress will land up in one dark corner of my wardrobe for ever.

I tried styling this midi-dress with scarves (a white one looked Santa Clausy), denim jackets (looked like an arranged marriage) and even my favourite long jacket (looked like a romance gone bad) but something was always off.

Then one day, I spotted this black vest which had a very unique varsity style but offered a rather sporty edge to the dress. I knew it then and there - My red dress has found its match. Smiling to myself, as I drew my card out for payment, I did a quick calculation of how many boring outfits this vest will end up rescuing just as it rescued my red dress. A total knight in shining armour I say (and my favourite addition to the basics wardrobe).

That’s it, no more chatter. End of story.

My Look:

Midi dress: H&M

Black vest: H&M

Aviators: Zara Men

Plimsol: Westside

The eye behind the lens: The images are clicked by Rahul Rout, a strong-headed, tantrum-throwing man-child, who is also the most reliable person when it comes to taking my pictures. We fight every time there is a shoot but I like how he turns up for the next one, all fresh and kicking. When he's not clicking my pics, he's writing codes or playing the keyboard. He also occasionally plays the guitar and sings songs that he randomly makes up from life situations. He whips up the best tea in the world and is a closet electrician and plumber. Oh, and since I thought this one is a total catch, I married him a few years back. It's been great ever since (gulp)!

Like it? Share it!
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page