top of page

Why is December everyone’s favourite month?


I just adore December. I mean, if December was a person, I would be best friends with them. And, then bake some cookies for them too!

Turns out, it’s not only my favourite month. Many many others too wait for December the way I do. I wonder why.

Is it because:

Mornings mean cosy moments under blankets: That extra five minutes of sleep assumes a different level of importance in December. From the moment the alarm goes off, until you are ‘really’ up, time is just wrapped in a bundle of the most comfortable kind of warmth that only a mind stepping out of sleep coma will appreciate.

’tis a season of house parties: There is something about this month that makes house parties so popular (Could it be the over-crowded pubs and their spiked cover charges?). Unless you have had a night of Never Have I Ever at a house party on a chilly December night, you’ve not bonded enough with your buddies.

Televisions air festive Christmas movies: Oh, this one’s my favourite! The pop of red, green and glistening lights on the television is like accessing all the Christmassy fun right from your drawing room.

Baking trays are out: December feels hit the kitchen too as baking trays are out and batches of cakes and cookies turn up on the snacks counters like dieting goals are never supposed to be taken seriously.

And, Christmas decorations: It is also time to dress the home like a bride. Christmas trees, baubles and fairy lights - you got to embrace the entire package! Oh, and, let’s not forget the shops and streets that make you want to come back and decorate the home a little bit more.

’tis time for Secret Santa at work: While most of the year is to team up for work, December is the month to team up for fun. Thus arrived Secret Santa, one of the best workplace games created by a certain somebody, who we all love very dearly.

Planning new resolutions: No no, I’m not embarrassing you by asking what happened to last year’s resolutions. December is that juncture which is the end of the year and beginning of a new one too. I guess, a lot of you are noting down to-dos for the next twelve months. Yep, that’s a nice Decembery thing too!

PS: In case you are wondering why I am wearing gloves in Bangalore, I have two things to say in my defense: This shoot was supposed to happen in Kodai, where R and I were supposed to be for our wedding anniversary celebrations, but then work happened and last weekend was really really cold here.

It's not because of by my craziness to randomly wear gloves, I swear!

My Look:

Sweater: Myntra

Pencil skirt: Zara

Lace-ups: Converse

Gloves: Max

The eye behind the lens: The images are clicked by Rahul Rout, a strong-headed, tantrum-throwing man-child, who is also the most reliable person when it comes to taking my pictures. We fight every time there is a shoot but I like how he turns up for the next one, all fresh and kicking. When he's not clicking my pics, he's writing codes or playing the keyboard. He also occasionally plays the guitar and sings songs that he randomly makes up from life situations. He whips up the best tea in the world and is a closet electrician and plumber. Oh, and since I thought this one is a total catch, I married him a few years back. It's been great ever since (gulp)!

Like it? Share it!
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page