top of page

A lazy girl’s hack to ALWAYS finishing a trek!


In case you missed, I just mentioned lazy and trek in the same sentence.

Criminal no?

Never mind, let me use Good Life Notes to get you interested in trekking and share a hack I follow to make sure I never give up half way through a trek.

Why would you be interested?

Well, no reason, apart from the fact that I know a lot of you shy away from the joyous world of trekking thinking it causes intense physical exhaustion and may not be your cup of tea.

Not long ago, trekking was nothing short of a nightmare. In fact, only after giving in to crushing peer pressure, I went on my first trek to Savandurga (we are talking about one of the largest monoliths in Asia), near Bangalore. It was a very reluctant start and I kept thinking in my head, ‘I don’t need to finish the trek at all. I’ll come back half way.’

Yes, that was me back then. A blithering idiot!

But, thanks to a great set of friends, I was was finally introduced to the joys of trekking. Now, I am not saying I am raring to scale the Mt. Everest, but at least now I am psychologically trek-ready all the time. A great tip came from a great friend that has since then stayed with me.

So here comes my big trekking secret!

Always set yourself a mini target while on a trek. Like, ‘I’ll rest only after I reach that tree, or that rock or the turn of this stretch.’ And, when you achieve that target, take a few minutes to rest and maybe even reward yourself with a sip of water.

The idea is to never comprehend a trek as a whole. Especially as a beginner, if you begin by looking at the highest point of the peak, it’ll just appear more daunting than it really is. So, set yourself smaller, easier and seemingly achievable targets, finish the task and set the next goal. Simple enough? It’s all a way of fooling the mind into believing the task ahead is easier than it seems!

Now this hack, and great trekking gear from the fanciest shops (the glutton shopper speaks), help me get really excited about treks.

So ready your mind, steady your heart, upgrade your wardrobe and fool your mind when the next trek is planned. Walk it like a boss, I say!

The eye behind the lens: The images are clicked by Ramprasad Saptharishi, a dear friend and a mathematical genius (who thought I could be friends with such people?) holding a PhD in ... errr, I don't think I have the knowledge to explain that. He's a faculty member at TIFR, Mumbai, who loves playing chess, cycling, trekking and clicking pictures, when he's not delivering science sermons to the world. Oh, and he also gave me this little trekking hack that I just shared with you!

Like it? Share it!
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page