top of page

3 rules for one-colour outfits


Who likes one-colour outfits, just like me? Show of hands only, please!

Now, I am a tad lazy when it comes to working with too many colours. I know that’s not a nice thing to disclose when you are writing a fashion post, but see, honesty is my thing.

Blacks, whites, greys and beige make up most of my wardrobe. Now, a plus side of my colour insouciance is a decent working knowledge of how to pull off one-colour outfits.

So, here are pointers I usually focus on. Take notes, only if you please:

Play of textures: A look in one colour can fall flat if there are no variations meeting the eye. Textures are the only way to add depth and dimension to a monochromatic look (unless there’s a pop of print in the look). Textures also draw attention on some areas while taking focus away from the rest. For example, pairing knits with denims, velvet with cotton or lace with suede can make for very rich looks.

Special focus on shoes: Shoes are the full-stops at the end of every outfit. Especially in a monochromatic look, it should leave a wow element for the eyes to round up the one-colour picture. If it’s in the same colour tone, I try to wear something which has some details that stand out. Footwear, in a contrasting hue, that add a little sparkle to the look, also work.

Adding a colour pop: Well, most choose a little contrasting colour detail to add some spunk to a one-colour look. Usually accessories is the way to go. A statement necklace, a scarf or a bag, your choices are as wide as imagination can stretch. Now, since I am not much of an accessories person, I usually wear a lip colour that is bright and contrasts with the rest of my look.

So, ya that’s that. Please let me know if you find any of my chatter useful.

Also, I’d love to know if you have any tips on styling one-colour looks. Am all ears!

My look:

Knit top: Dressberry, Myntra

Ripped denim: Splash

Sneakers with fur detail: Zara

Images via GoodLifeNotes

Like it? Share it!
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page